Thursday, March 12, 2015

Foreign ministers of 12 Eueropean countries to discuss EU energy security

Issues of the European Union’s energy security and the situation in Ukraine will be in focus of a meeting between foreign ministers of Slovakia, the Czech Republic, Poland, Hungary, Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Norway and Iceland due to begin on Thursday in Slovakia’s Strbske Pleso.

"Our states are located in the eastern wing of NATO and the European Union and that is why we have many common subjects," Slovakia’s Foreign Minister Miroslav Lajcak told journalists on Wednesday.

It will be an informal meeting, the third one in such format. "The first two were successfully held in Poland’s Gdansk and Estonia’s Narva," he said.

Maros Sefcovic, Vice President of the European Commission for the Energy Union, will take part in the meeting. On Friday, Ukraine’s Foreign Minister Pavel Klimkin is expected to join.

The ministers plan to coordinate their countries’ approaches to NATO’s programme Eastern Partnership. Their will discuss issues of international terrorism and preparations for a forthcoming NATO summit in Riga.

The meeting is expected to be crowned by a joint statement of participating ministers.


No comments:

Post a Comment

Only News

EL News

Blog Widget by LinkWithin